Recall Notice

Burley Design, in conjunction with the United States Consumer Products Safety Commission and Health Canada, is conducting a voluntary recall of Burley D’Lite, D’Lite ST, Solo, Solo ST, Encore, Cub, and Rental Cub bicycle trailers manufactured between 2009 and 2015.

Die Zugstangenaufnahme am Anhänger kann brechen, wenn der Haltestift nicht vollständig durch die Zugstange und den Empfänger eingeführt wird. Dies kann dazu führen, dass sich der Anhänger vom Fahrrad löst und eine Verletzungsgefahr für den Kinderinsassen oder Fahrradfahrer besteht. Betroffene Anhänger haben einen schwarzen Kunststoff-Zugstangenbehälter mit integriertem Radschutz (siehe Foto). Aluminium-Zugstangenbehälter sind von diesem Rückruf nicht betroffen.
Anhänger mit diesem schwarzen Kunststoff-Radschutz können in den Rückruf aufgenommen werden.
Consumers should stop using the affected trailers immediately and request a free Safety Strap Repair Kit from Burley. The Safety Strap will serve as a backup connection point between the trailer and tow bar in the event that the tow bar is not attached properly to the receiver using the retaining pin. Installation of the Safety Strap takes about 15 minutes. The kit includes instructions and all required tools and hardware. A Safety Strap installation instructions video is available hereand downloadable instructions are available here.
Der Sicherheitsgurt. Bietet eine Backup-Verbindung zwischen Anhängerkupplung und Anhängerrahmen.
Consumers should also check their tow bar receiver for any signs of damage that could have resulted from usage without the retaining pin properly inserted. If you notice any signs of damage, contact Burley to request a free replacement receiver.

Wenn Sie ein Verbraucher sind

Input your serial number here to check if your trailer is affected. If your serial number is affected, you will be prompted with instructions to request your free Safety Strap Repair Kit. For help finding your serial number, click here.Eingabe der Seriennummer des Verbrauchers

Wenn Sie ein BurleyHändler sind

Fill out this form to receive your Safety Strap Repair Kits.Eingabe der Seriennummer des Händlers

FAQ

Warum wird eine Rückrufaktion Burleydurchgeführt?
  • Anhänger mit schwarzen Kunststoff-Zugstangenbehältern können sich von der Zugstange lösen und stellen eine Unfallgefahr für das Kind im Anhänger dar.
  • Wir haben eine kleine Anzahl von Berichten über das Abbrechen von Empfängern für Fahrradanhänger-Zugstangen während der Nutzung erhalten, die in einigen Fällen dazu geführt haben, dass sich der Anhänger vom Fahrrad gelöst hat. Fahrräder und Anhänger können aus den unterschiedlichsten Gründen abstürzen, aber nach umfangreichen Tests wurde festgestellt, dass die Ursache in den meisten Fällen in der unvollständigen Befestigung der Anhängerkupplung am Empfänger am Anhänger liegt. Wenn der Haltestift nicht durch die Zugstange und den Empfänger eingeführt wird, kann die Zugstange aus dem Empfänger herausrutschen oder genügend Drehmoment erzeugen, um den Empfänger zu brechen. Dies kann dazu führen, dass sich der Anhänger vom Fahrrad löst.
  • Im Laufe der Untersuchung dieser Situation haben wir gelernt, dass einige Verbraucher den Haltestift vor dem Einsetzen der Zugstange in den Empfänger eingeführt haben oder dass sie die Zugstange vor dem Einsetzen des Haltestiftes nicht vollständig in den Empfänger eingeführt haben. In beiden Fällen führt dies dazu, dass der Haltestift die Anhängerkupplung nicht sichert. Erkennt der Benutzer diese Situation nicht und beginnt mit dem Anhänger zu fahren, kann das Produkt in einigen Fällen über einen längeren Zeitraum normal funktionieren. Um das Risiko zu verringern, dass sich der Anhänger während der Nutzung im Rahmen dieses Szenarios löst, führen wir einen freiwilligen Rückruf durch und stellen für alle betroffenen Anhänger ein kostenloses Reparaturset für Sicherheitsgurte aus. Das Set enthält einen Sicherheitsgurt, der als Backup-Verbindungspunkt zwischen Anhänger und Anhänger dient, falls sich die Anhängerkupplung vom Empfänger löst, sowie Werkzeuge und Anweisungen. Der Sicherheitsgurt wird an der Anhängerkupplung montiert und am Anhänger befestigt.
  • Unsere Anhänger erfüllen alle geltenden Sicherheitsnormen, haben sich aber Burleydafür entschieden, einen freiwilligen Rückruf durchzuführen, um diese Reparatursets für Sicherheitsgurte zu verteilen, weil wir der Meinung waren, dass es das Richtige war, und wir arbeiten mit der United States Consumer Product Safety Commission zusammen, um dieses Programm zu veröffentlichen und durchzuführen. Unsere Produkte tragen Kinder. Eltern auf der ganzen Welt vertrauen uns ihre wertvollsten LastenDinge an, und wir sind entschlossen, alles in unserer Macht Stehende zu tun, um ihre Kinder zu schützen. Durch die Durchführung eines freiwilligen Rückrufs und das Hinzufügen eines Sicherheitsgurtes als Backup-Verbindungspunkt zwischen Anhänger und Zugstange können wir das Risiko eines Lösens des Anhängers verringern, wenn die Zugstange nicht ordnungsgemäß am Empfänger befestigt ist.
Wie viele Anhänger werden zurückgerufen?
  • Etwa 34.000 Anhänger wurden in den USA und etwa 820 in Kanada verkauft.
Wie viele defekte Anhängerkupplungsempfänger wurden gemeldet?
  • Fahrräder, die regelmäßig abstürzen oder in Unfälle verwickelt werden, aus Gründen, die nichts mit dem Anhänger, der Anhängerkupplung oder dem Empfänger zu tun haben, und Burley hat seit 2009 insgesamt 35 Berichte von Verbrauchern erhalten, die einen Ersatzempfänger angefordert haben über Burleydes Prozesses Retouren-Warenautorisierung (RMA). Einige dieser Empfänger sind möglicherweise durch Abstürze beschädigt worden, die nichts damit zu tun haben, wie die Anhängerkupplung befestigt wurde, aber einige sind durch die Art und Weise, wie die Anhängerkupplung befestigt wurde, entstanden.
  • Diese Zahlen sind angesichts der Anzahl der am Markt befindlichen Einheiten mit einem Anteil von rund 0,1% äußerst gering.
Wurden Verletzungen oder Todesfälle gemeldet?
  • Burley hat zwei Berichte über kaputte Anhängerkupplungen erhalten, die dazu führten, dass sich der Anhänger löste und umkippte, was zu geringfügigen Abrieberscheinungen führte. Es wurden keine weiteren Verletzungen gemeldet.
Woher weiß ich, ob mein Anhänger zurückgerufen wird?
  • Wenn Ihr Anhänger über einen schwarzen Anhängerkupplungsträger aus Kunststoff mit integriertem Radschutz verfügt, wird das Produkt zurückgerufen.
  • Zu den betroffenen Modellen gehören D’Lite, D’Lite ST, Solo, Solo, Solo ST,Encore, Cub, und Rental Cub Anhänger hergestellt von 2009 - 2015.
  • Um zu bestätigen, ob Ihr Anhänger zurückgerufen wird, geben Sie hier Ihre Seriennummer ein. Wenn Sie Ihre Seriennummer nicht kennen, wenden Sie sich bitte an uns. Kontakt Burley
Was soll ich tun, wenn mein Anhänger zurückgerufen wird?
  • Hören Sie sofort auf, Ihren Anhänger zu benutzen. 
  • Nachdem Sie Geben Sie hier Ihre Seriennummer ein um zu bestätigen, dass Ihr Anhänger zurückgerufen wird, werden Sie aufgefordert, Ihre Kontaktdaten und Ihre Postanschrift einzugeben. Wir senden Ihnen ein kostenloses Reparaturset für Sicherheitsgurte zu, das einen Sicherheitsgurt und eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung enthält. Sie können auch unter 800-311-5294 zwischen 8 und 17 Uhr PT, Montag-Freitag, anrufenBurley, um Ihr Reparaturset anzufordern.
  • Wenn Sie Ihren Anhänger jemals benutzt haben, ohne den Haltestift durch die Zugstange und den Empfänger zu stecken, sollten Sie Ihren Empfänger auf Beschädigungen überprüfen. Wenn Sie glauben, dass Ihr Receiver beschädigt sein könnte, wenden BurleySie sich bitte an uns, um einen kostenlosen Ersatzempfänger anzufordern. Die meisten Menschen werden keinen neuen Empfänger benötigen, aber wenn Ihr Empfänger in irgendeiner Weise beschädigt ist, stellen wir Ihnen einen kostenlosen Ersatzempfänger zusammen mit dem Reparatursatz für Sicherheitsgurte zur Verfügung.
  • Die Montage des Sicherheitsgurtes dauert für jeden, der über Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit Handwerkzeugen verfügt, weniger als 15 Minuten. Sobald Ihr Sicherheitsgurt angebracht wurde, können Sie den normalen Gebrauch des Anhängers wieder aufnehmen.
  • Wenn Sie zögern, die Installation des Sicherungsbandes selbst durchzuführen, können Sie Ihren Anhänger und das Reparaturset zu Ihrem örtlichen BurleyVertragshändler bringen, der den Service im Geschäft kostenlos durchführen kann.
Mein Anhänger wird zurückgerufen, aber mein Haltestift wird korrekt durch die Anhängerkupplung und den Empfänger eingeführt. Besteht die Gefahr, dass sich mein Anhänger löst?
  • Bei korrekter Installation mit dem Sicherungsstift, der durch die Anhängerkupplung und den Empfänger eingeführt wird, funktioniert das Produkt normal. Der Anhänger wird jedoch immer noch zurückgerufen und sollte zur zusätzlichen Sicherheit mit dem Sicherungsgurt versehen sein.

Choose a Language

Child Trailer Recall

 

Burley Design, in conjunction with the United States Consumer Products Safety Commission and Health Canada, is conducting a voluntary recall of Burley D’Lite, D’Lite ST, Solo, Solo ST, Encore, Cub, and Rental Cub bicycle trailers manufactured between 2009 and 2015.

The tow bar receiver on the trailer may break if the retaining pin is not inserted completely through both the tow bar and the receiver. This can cause the trailer to detach from the bicycle, posing a risk of injury to the child occupant or bicycle rider. 

Affected trailers have a black plastic tow bar receiver with an integrated wheel guard (see photos below). Aluminum tow bar receivers are not affected by this recall.

Consumers should stop using the affected trailers immediately and request a free Safety Strap Repair Kit from Burley. The Safety Strap will serve as a backup connection point between the trailer and tow bar in the event that the tow bar is not attached properly to the receiver using the retaining pin. Installation of the Safety Strap takes about 15 minutes. The kit includes instructions and all required tools and hardware. A Safety Strap installation instructions video is available  hereand downloadable instructions are available here.

Consumers should also check their tow bar receiver for any signs of damage that could have resulted from usage without the retaining pin properly inserted. If you notice any signs of damage, contact Burley to request a free replacement receiver.

 

If you are a consumer

Input your serial number here to check if your trailer is affected. If your serial number is affected, you will be prompted with instructions to request your free Safety Strap Repair Kit. For help finding your serial number, click here.

Consumer Serial Number Input

 

If you are a Burley Dealer

 Fill out this form to receive your Safety Strap Repair Kits.

Dealer Serial Number Input

 

 

 

FAQ

Why is Burley conducting a recall?

  • Trailers with black plastic tow bar receivers can separate from the tow bar, posing crash hazards to the child in the trailer.
  • We have received a small number of reports of bike trailer tow bar receivers breaking during use, in some cases causing the trailer to detach from the bike. Bicycles and trailers can crash for all sorts of reasons, but after extensive testing, it has been determined that the root cause in most cases is incomplete attachment of the tow bar to the receiver on the trailer. If the retaining pin is not inserted through the tow bar and receiver, the tow bar can slide out of the receiver or generate enough torque to break the receiver. This can cause the trailer to detach from the bicycle.
  • In the course of investigating this situation, we learned that a few consumers inserted the retaining pin into the receiver before inserting the tow bar, or they did not fully insert the tow bar into the receiver before inserting the retaining pin. Either way, this creates a situation where the retaining pin does not secure the tow bar. If the user does not recognize this situation and begins to bike with the trailer, the product may function normally in some cases for an extended period of time. To reduce the risk of the trailer detaching during use under this scenario, we are conducting a voluntary recall and issuing a free Safety Strap Repair Kit for all affected trailers. The kit includes a Safety Strap that will serve as a backup connection point between the trailer and the tow bar in the event that the tow bar detaches from the receiver, as well as tools and instructions. The Safety Strap will be mounted to the tow bar and attached to the trailer.
  • Our trailers comply with all applicable safety standards, but Burley chose to conduct a voluntary recall to distribute these Safety Strap Repair Kits because we felt it was the right thing to do, and we are working with the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission to publicize and carry out this program. Our products carry children. Parents all over the world trust us with their most precious cargo, and we are committed to doing everything in our power to keep their children safe. By conducting a voluntary recall and adding a Safety Strap as a backup connection point between the trailer and the tow bar, we can reduce the risk of trailer detachment when the tow bar is not properly attached to the receiver.

How many trailers are recalled?

  • About 34,000 trailers sold in the US and about 820 sold in Canada.

How many broken tow bar receivers have been reported?

  • Bicycles periodically crash or become involved in accidents for reasons having nothing to do with the trailer, tow bar or receiver, and Burley has received a total of 35 reports since 2009 from consumers who requested a replacement receiver through Burley’s Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) process. Some of these receivers may have broken as a result of crashes having nothing to do with how the tow bar was attached, but some may have resulted from the way the tow bar was attached.
  • These numbers are extremely small in light of the number of the units in the marketplace, representing about 0.1%.

Have there been injuries or deaths reported?

  • Burley has received two reports of broken tow bar receivers that led to the trailer detaching and rolling over, resulting in minor abrasions. No other injuries have been reported.

How do I know if my trailer is recalled?

  • If your trailer has a black plastic tow bar receiver with an integrated wheel guard, the product is recalled.
  • Affected models include D’Lite, D’Lite ST, Solo, Solo ST, Encore, Cub, and Rental Cub trailers manufactured from 2009 – 2015.
  • To confirm if your trailer is recalled, input your serial number hereIf you do not know your serial number, please contact Burley

What should I do if my trailer is recalled?

  • Stop using your trailer immediately. 
  • After you have input your serial number here to confirm that your trailer is recalled, you will be prompted to enter your contact information and mailing address. We will send you a free Safety Strap Repair Kit that includes a Safety Strap and step-by-step installation instructions. You can also call Burley at 800-311-5294 between 8am and 5pm PT, Monday-Friday to request your Repair Kit.
  • If you have ever used your trailer without inserting the retaining pin through the tow bar and receiver, you should check you receiver for any signs of damage. If you believe your receiver may be damaged, please contact Burley to request a free replacement receiver.  Most people will not need a new receiver, but if your receiver is damaged in any way, we will provide a free replacement receiver along with the Safety Strap Repair Kit.
  • Installation of the safety strap takes less than 15 minutes for any individual possessing basic competence with hand tools. Once your Safety Strap has been installed, you may resume normal use of the trailer.
  • If you are reluctant to perform the Safety Strap installation on your own, you can take your trailer and Repair Kit to your local authorized Burley dealer who can perform the service in the store free of charge.

My trailer is recalled, but my retaining pin is inserted correctly through the tow bar and the receiver. Is my trailer at risk to detach?

  • When installed correctly with the retaining pin inserted through the tow bar and receiver, the product functions normally. However, the trailer is still recalled and should have the safety strap installed as an additional safeguard.